‘A QUESTION UNANSWERED’ by Malu E. Gacuma (April 17, 2017 / Monday, 3:50 pm)

In 1978,Google or internet was still unknown, I was barely 12 yrs old . One summer day, I was euphoric to have finally outwitted my late father, Dr.Oscar D.Gacuma (a very well-read man of science) when I suddenly asked him:

ME:” Dad, how do you call the shape of the Earth?
DAD: “Simple! It’s round!”
Me (shaking my head) “Nope!Another guess?”
Dad: “Aha! Trying to outsmart me,ha? It’s circle!”
Me: ( this time grinning):“Wrong.Give up?”

The rest of our family started laughing. First time my Dad conceded.

Me:” It’s called OBLATE SPHEROID. Like a dead potato.”.
Dad:(validating) “ Really?! Let’s see. Where did you read that?”
ME: “New Book of Knowledge.” ( I cited the page of that Grolier encyclopedia). The rest of the family teased Dad! 😀

Since then on,Dad would coax me to outwit my uncles or his ‘scholarly’ patients or his ‘nerdy’ buddies. I always won and  took pride!

260306_237249636292542_1023439_n

My late father, Dr.Oscar D.Gacuma,Sr. in his dental clinic, as Resident Dentist of the Foundation Hospital in Sagay City during the late 1970s to mid-1980s.

••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜

Decades passed. I became a parent. One day, Dad was with us at our sala when my youngest and 4-year-old daughter ,Claudia, suddenly asked me something that floored me down.

Clay: “Mama, why do dogs have whiskers?”
Me: ” Ah…er…” (No answer at hand! Incidentally, I was with Grolier at that time).

••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜

clay at 4

Me with Clay, who was turning 4 in this photo.

••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜

At the corner of my eye,I saw Dad laughing silently. When our eyes locked, he naughtily winked at me, as if saying: “We’re on the same page now,kid!” And he started explaining to Claudia the answer.

That was the day my wayward pride was put back to its proper place!

Thanks to you, Dad!  I loved you more for that!  

••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜˜”*°°••••°°*”˜

clay37

Claudia, now at 18, reading (her passion) at The Spectrum office of the University of Saint La Salle, where she is currently its News Editor.

One thought on “‘A QUESTION UNANSWERED’ by Malu E. Gacuma (April 17, 2017 / Monday, 3:50 pm)

  1. Pingback: ‘A QUESTION UNANSWERED’ by Malu E. Gacuma (April 17, 2017 / Monday, 3:50 pm) | The Diarist

Leave a Reply

