‘A ROLE NOT MINE ALONE’ (A Father’s Day Reflection) by Malu E. Gacuma , June 18, 2017

✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽:¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽:¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽

As Father’s Day arrived a minute past midnight earlier today, my 3 girls greeted me “Ma, Happy Father’s Day!“, considering I have raised them single-handedly for 18 years now. They see me taking the role of both mother and father not only by provision but even with some physical tasks a father is expected to do, e.g. carpentry, carrying heavy things, staying up and sleepless to guard the house in times of danger , braving the worst of weathers and the threats of some chauvinistic men.

mama multi tasking

Some of our countless roles  in life! (Thanks to my eldest daughter, Chickie, for this 2012 collage)

 

 

 

painter

December 2016- Doing the usual house painting task every Christmas (Thanks to my 2nd daughter, Angel, for this candid shot)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

But the hardest father’s task to do is coping with the financial demands of raising the children for them to be educated, decent and God-fearing individuals. It is not done with ease but more with pains, sacrifices,self-deprivation and countless tests of faith and endurance.

How many times have I been humiliated for asking assistance from people when there was no last recourse at that moment? How many times have I been subjected to verbal bullying for not being able to cope with deadlines of paying our rent? How many times have I been insulted and debased for trying so hard to cope with the deadlines and demands of the schools? How many kilometers have I walked back and forth, literally, to save every cent that I may be able to go home—as a provider– with food for the table? Countless times. Despite all efforts, it seems like there is always not enough. It takes blind faith to keep going on.

family in manila

December 26,2001 in Quezon City : Our 2nd Christmas without their father. With my daughters, Chickie, Angel and Clay ( then aged  6, 4 and 3 yrs old, respectively).

As a once abandoned-then-widowed wife, I may have all the reasons to take pride that today, Father’s Day, I deserve my children’s greetings to validate that I have lived up to the manly role far more better than my husband.

However, that mindset is not what I am instilling to my daughters’ individual character. I always remind them that Father’s Day belongs solely to their late father, Christopher. Regardless of his shortcomings or absolute negligence as he battled his own self when he was alive, he now remains –even in memory– as their father, in essence. Nobody can or must take away that role from him. Not even I. My children got the point.

tush

 

 

father's day

 

 

For this, I will still, with the least respect due him and his memory, greet him today, “Happy Father’s Day, CTG, wherever you may be.”

And as Father’s Day will end tonight, I can sleep soundly. For a day well-defined and well-remembered. ❤

✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽:¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽:¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽¸¸✽:¸

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “‘A ROLE NOT MINE ALONE’ (A Father’s Day Reflection) by Malu E. Gacuma , June 18, 2017

Leave a Reply

